Top » Catalog » CD »


Katechon - Man God Giant CD

Katechon - Man God Giant CD
The word “katechon” refers to the restraining force or entity tethering the Antichrist, and thus maintaining equipoise between existence and annihilation. Sonically and conceptually, Katechon exhibits the control, power, and restraint associated with the theological concept giving rise to the band’s name. At this point in the lineage of extreme metal, the lines between the various subgenres are nearly indistinguishably blurred. Bands emerging at this stage are almost certainly influenced by Black, Death, and Thrash metal in relatively equal parts in addition to drawing influence from genres outside the traditional spectrum of metal. This amorphous state, has led many bands to retreat into strict rehashing of formulaic retro approaches. Katechon, however, embraces the entropic merging of stylistic and aesthetic projections from the various branches of the genre and beyond. Under scrutiny since the release of its demo last year, Norway’s Katechon now presents its debut full-length recording. “Man, God, Giant” reinforces the sound presented on Katechon’s previous recordings*, but features superb production that amplifies the impact of the tracks. Each of the three songs featured on the demo is reworked and incorporated into the album. Katechon’s sound is an amalgamation of Black, Death, and Thrash metal, but played with a precision and authenticity that avoids dilution. Instead the result is frenetic and possessed, devoid of theatrics and self-indulgent virtuosity, and features highly proficient and intricate songwriting executed with precision. With philosophically oriented lyrics and adorned with an esoteric and surreal visual aesthetic, “Man, God, Giant” presents a unique vision for the future direction of metal in which an equilibrium must be maintained between rote rehashing of past trends and the indiscriminate collision of clashing styles and sounds. Katechon rests perfectly at this equilibrium point, holding at bay the forces of dissolution.

CD (372)
MC (265)
VINYL-> (58)
Quick Find
Use keywords to find the product you are looking for.
Advanced Search
1 x Fleurety - Fragmenta Cuiusvis Aetatis Contemporaneae 7"EP
1 x Rites of Thy Degringolade - The Blade Philosophical CD
2 x Anatomia - Cranial Obsession CD
2 x Bunkur / Mordor - Split CD
1 x Perverted Ceremony - Sabbat of Behezaël CD
1 x Monads - IVIIV DIGI-CD
1 x Doomster Reich - Drug Magick CD
1 x Heavydeath / Excruciation - Split 7"EP
1 x Rites of Thy Degringolade - The Universe in Three Parts MC
1 x Temple of Void - Demo MMXIII DIGI-CD
1 x Cataleptic - Forward CD
1 x Mourning Dawn - Waste DIGI-CD
1 x Ill Omen - Ae.Thy.Rift CD
1 x Heavydeath / Excruciation - Split PIC EP
1 x Wrathprayer / Force of Darkness - Wrath of Darkness CD
1 x Saltas - Currents MC
1 x Esoteric - Esoteric Emotions: The Death of Ignorance DIGI-CD
1 x Aamunkajo - Kaiku. CD
1 x Armaggedon - S.H. 666 CD
1 x Armaggedon - I.N.R.I. Digipack
1 x Aske - Saatan Legio/Goatfuck CD
1 x Beyond Black Void - Desolate CD
1 x Atra Vetosus - Ius Vitae Necisque CD
1 x Batrakos - Degenerate Collection CD
1 x Alene Misantropi - Absence Of Light CD
1 x Azaghal / Oath - Split CD
1 x Abysskvlt - Thanatochromia DIGI-CD
1 x Abysmal Darkening - No Light Behind CD
1 x Chaos Echoes - Transient DIGI-CD
1 x Absinthropy - Smitciv - Victims CD
1 x Ankhagram - Thoughts CD
1 x Blood Red Fog - Thanatotic Supremacy CD
1 x Coil Commemorate Enslave - L'infinita Vanità Del Tutto CD
1 x (DRAMA) - Zastor Tisine CD
1 x Blood Tyrant - Night of Blood Moon CD
1 x Aetherius Obscuritas - Black Medicine / Fekete Orvosság CD
1 x Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts DIGIPACK CD
1 x Ancient Moon - Vvltvre CD
1 x A Transylvanian Funeral - Gorgos Goetia CD
1 x Bethlehem - Dictius Te Necare CD
1 x Buensuceso - ANALOGY: The Sun | Divided Line DIGI CD
1 x Architect of Disease - Open the Hearts CD
1 x Chaos Echoes - Mouvement DIGI-CD
1 x Ash Pool - For Which He Plies the Lash CD
1 x Black Depths Grey Waves - Nightmare Of The Blackened Heart CD
1 x Avsked - Livets Ironi CD
1 x Burial Mist - Mortificated Symbols of Fate CD
1 x Beyond Life - Blackened Sky CD
1 x Altar of Perversion/Mordaehoth/Der Blutharsch - Tributo a Der Blutharsch CD
1 x Bethlehem - A Sacrificial Offering CD
1 x Bialy Vitez - Odejsc by wiecznie zyc CD
1 x Alkerdeel - Morinde
1 x Bunkur - Bludgeon CD
1 x Carnal Redemption - Cerebral Chaos CD
1 x Aeon Winds - On the Way to Oblivion CD
1 x Begrime Exemious - Impending Funeral of Man CD
1 x Akerbeltz / Waffenträger Luzifers / Nebrus - Slaughtered Whores of Satan CD
Share Product
Share via E-Mail Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Google Buzz Share on Digg